FSSAI License Categories?

FSSAI Licence Categories

Everything You Need to Know about FSSAI Food License Category List

Individuals interested in starting a food business in India must apply for FSSAI licensing according to the FSSAI Regulation of 2011. Based on different types of companies, the government has set varied thresholds, passing which there is this mandate for company owners to apply for FSSAI Registration Bangalore. It is also important for food business start-up owners to know everything about the FSSAI food license category list. The content herein will teach you everything about the food category list FSSAI.

Know all about FSSAI Registration Category

The FSSAI, or Food Safety and Standards Authority of India, is responsible for maintaining and supervising food safety, and it also sets the regulations for food safety in India. Food business operators in India must register and get the FSSAI license beforehand, and businesses that fail to do so are held up for penalties by the FSSAI. Most food business operators are confused about the FSSAI license they are eligible for, as there are different varieties of FSSAI licenses. It is for their help that the FSSAI food license category list is available.

The food category list FSSAI helps food business operators get the license for the size and type of food business they own while simultaneously considering the total annual turnover of their business. Whether an individual is the owner of a home-based food supply business or a commercial unit, whether the mode is offline or online, the scope is quite wide. The FSSAI food license category list covers all the food businesses, which include restaurants, hotels, boarding homes, canteens, food serving clubs, food vendors, caterers and people dealing with organic food products.

How do we decide the Food FSSAI Registration Category?

The FSSAI decided to segregate food categories and subcategories in the FoSCoS or food safety compliance system under the General Manufacturing company type. The food category list in India has been put in place by the FSSAI to speed up the registration or licensing procedure of small and medium-scale food enterprises. The FSSAI food license category list, the FSSAI covers food items into a specific FSSAI code, implying each food product is related to an exclusive number. This number lets businessmen recognise a particular food item. Businesses must fill out food category codes when registering and receiving the FSSAI license. The FSSAI codes for food describe all features and incidences of a specific food item. The thresholds for FSSAI registration have been established based on output, turnover star rating, installed capacity and vehicles used for food transport of a company. Different types of FSSAI licenses encompass different food businesses, like restaurants, hotels, clubs, boarding homes, educational establishments, food sellers, catering services and corporate canteens.

Types of FSSAI Registration Category

Food businesses with a yearly turnover of Rs. 12 lakhs must obtain the basic FSSAI food category license. All food businesses, including retailers, manufacturers, transporters, storage and distributors, will need this license. The segregation goes like this:

  • Food manufacturers, including small vendors, hawkers and street stall owners.
  • Industries with food production capacity not exceeding 100 kgs or litres per day.
  • Industries with the collection, handling or procurement of milk up to 500 litres per day.
  • Businesses with a slaughtering capacity of 2 large animals, ten small animals, 50 poultry birds per day, or anything less.

State License

Businesses with a turnover of over Rs. 12 lakhs but less than Rs. 20 crores need to obtain the FSSAI product list State License. The food category list for businesses that need to obtain the FSSAI State license is determined by the FSSAI. At the minimum, this license is valid for five years.

Central License

Exporting or importing companies dealing in FSSAI products or food products with FSSAI Indian food code major manufacturers and other closely-related businesses need to get the FSSAI Central License. Food businesses with yearly turnover of more than Rs. 20 crores need to get the Central License allotted for one year at the least and a maximum of five years.To make sure that the FSSAI food category list is properly licensed or registered, food businesses need to consider the factors below:

  • As per standards for different food categories, registration or license requirements must be followed.
  • It is entirely upon the manufacturer whether or not to use additives.
  • Food businesses must adhere to the GMP requirements in the relevant food categories list.

Frequently Asked Questions

What comes under the food category?

Different types of food products like dairy; fats and oils; edible ices; fruits and vegetables; confectionery; cereals; bakery; meat; fish; eggs; sweeteners; salts, soups, spices, salads, proteins and sauces; food products for nutritional use; beverages; Indian sweets and snacks; substances added to food; hemp seeds and seed products and standardised food products come under the food category.

What is a category in the FSSAI license?

The FSSAI license category comprises 20 major categories and subcategories in line with the codex food categorisation system.

How many food categories are there in FSSAI?

There are 20 food categories and subcategories in FSSAI.

What is Form B in FSSAI?

All restaurants, hotels, clubs, catering services, retailers, canteens, food transporters, suppliers, distributors, wholesale traders, warehouse owners and cold storage owners need to apply for FSSAI food licenses by filling out Form B. all FBOs with businesses related to foods, such as chilling centres, milk collection centres, oil refining units, solvent extraction units, manufacturing, importing, packaging and processing business need to fill in Form B to acquire FSSAI license.

What is food category 2.0 in FSSAI?

Food category 2.0 includes fats and oils, and fat emulsions.

What is the Yellow Book FSSAI?

Yellow Book FSSAI is part of FSSAIā€™s Safe and Nutritious Foods (SNF) @ Schools initiative. The FSSAI has launched the Yellow Book for children to ensure a complete lifetime of safe and healthy food choices. This is because the habits inculcated during childhood create behavioural patterns in adults.

What is Form D1 in FSSAI?

All food manufacturers, importers, labellers, packers, re-packers and re-labellers need to compulsorily file Form D1 with FSSAI. This form can be filled in online or offline, wherein the businesses present the details of their annual return.

What is Level 3 Food Safety?

Level 3 Food Safety is the guide to food safety skills for management. It outlines the skills that need to be possessed by supervisors and managers working in the food industry.

What is a high-risk food list of 3 types?

The high-risk food list three types include meat and meat products, eggs, dairy products, fish, and poultry.